top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAuto Tags of Oakland Park

Out of State Car Registration in Florida

If you're moving to Florida from another state, one of the things you need to take care of is registering your vehicle in Florida. Here's what you need to know about out-of-state car registration in Florida.


Residency Requirements


To register your car in Florida, you need to be a resident of the state. Florida law defines a resident as someone who has established a physical presence in the state with the intent to reside in Florida on a permanent or indefinite basis. You'll need to provide proof of your Florida residency, such as a Florida driver's license or ID card, utility bills, or a lease or mortgage agreement.


Vehicle Title


If you own your car outright, you'll need to transfer the title to Florida before you can register your car. If you have a loan on your car, the lender will hold the title until you pay off the loan. In that case, you'll need to provide the lender's contact information to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).


Vehicle Inspection


Florida requires all out-of-state vehicles to pass a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection before they can be registered in the state. The inspection verifies that the VIN on your car matches the one on your title or registration. You can get the inspection done at any DHSMV office or an authorized service provider.


Insurance Requirements


Florida law requires all drivers to carry minimum levels of car insurance coverage. You'll need to provide proof of insurance when you register your car. The minimum coverage requirements in Florida are:


$10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)

$10,000 in property damage liability (PDL)

Registration Fees


The cost of registering your car in Florida depends on several factors, such as the weight of your car, the length of your registration, and whether you want a specialty license plate. You can expect to pay around $85 to register your car in Florida, plus any additional fees for specialty plates or other services.


Why Use Auto Tags To Register Your Out-of-State Car?


Registering your out-of-state car in Florida can be a time-consuming and confusing process. That's why many people choose to use a third-party service like Auto Tags to handle the registration process for them. Auto Tags is a reliable DMV alternative in South Florida that has been helping people register their cars in Florida for over 30 years. They can handle everything from transferring your title to getting your VIN inspection done, and they offer competitive pricing and excellent customer service.


Plan your move and vehicle registration with these basics and you will be able to complete your registration in Florida without stress. Contact Auto Tags to get started today! If you need Oakland Park auto tags, Oakland Park tag renewals, or anything Oakland Park tags and titles, consider stopping by Auto Tags of Oakland Park. We are your one-stop shop for all things auto tags - no more waiting at the Oakland Park DMV. We are your number one Oakland Park tag agency - call Oakland Park Auto Tags today. Find our online renewals page here or check out our main website to learn how to get started.


To learn more about out-of-state registration, check out these other resources below: Resource 1 | Resource 2 | Resource


20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page