Car Titles and Registration: When to Renew
Owning a car is a must for many people and it can be exciting to have the means to go wherever you want on a whim. However, being a vehicle owner also comes with several responsibilities. One of the most important is being aware of how to register your car and renew its registration in the future.
In Florida, this is a must. The state requires that every vehicle is registered with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Office (DHSMV).
It might seem complicated to register a car, but once you’re educated on the process and the laws, it becomes much simpler. We’ll explain what you need to know about car titles and registration, including when you should renew the registration to avoid any adverse consequences.
What Registration Consists Of
Based on Florida law, all vehicles operating on state roads must have a valid registration. Those with an out-of-state registration have up to 10 days to have the car registered in Florida after establishing residency in the state.
The registration has three separate parts, including:
A paper registration certificate is required to be kept in the vehicle or possession of the person driving the car.
A license plate, which may also be called a tag, is attached to the car, truck, or SUV.
A small sticker that is attached to the tag at the upper right-hand corner.
Depending on the circumstances, registration lasts for one or two years. This is based on the registration period that you choose. Registration will expire at midnight on the original owner’s birthday.
License plates are valid for up to 10 years. When the registration has been renewed 10 times, new tags will be provided to the driver.
Completing Florida Car Registration
As mentioned, all cars legally driven in Florida need registration. While the renewal occurs every one to two years, you can also renew the registration up to three months before the expiration. Unfortunately, Florida is a state that does not offer a grace period, which means it expires at midnight and is no longer good for driving.
The only exception is when someone is driving a heavy truck or the vehicle is owned by a business. In these cases, the registration renewal will be due by either June 30 or December 31. Make sure to check the registration certificate to determine which is the case for you.
If someone doesn’t renew the registration in advance, a late fee will be added to the renewal fees. This is based on the license tax for the car.
Options for Renewing Your Registration
If it’s about time to renew your registration, you might think that your only option is to visit a DMV office. The issue with that is that the process can be time-consuming and stressful. These offices are often filled with people and you can spend hours waiting to be helped. Many don’t have the time to do this, which is why it’s excellent that you have other options.
Rather than visiting the DMV, you can use a private courier service to handle your renewal. At Auto Tags of Oakland Park, we specialize in same-day services. You can email us your expired registration, driver’s license information, and updated insurance information and get help with your renewal. You’ll save time and money, so get in touch with us today. We are your Oakland Park DMV alternative and the best Oakland Park tag and title agency. We offer auto tag services like tag renewals, registration, and much more. Get in touch with us today or check out our website for more information. Find us in-person at Oakland Park Auto Tags.